Caution: May Cause Bruises

image

I do. I do like big books.
I usually judge the heft of my book by how quickly my thumb falls asleep when my book closes on it at night. But occasionally, I curse the big book – like Nicola Barker’s Darkmans – so heavy I’ve never actually read it. I swear, it weights pounds, many of them.
Or when a book slams into my face when I fall asleep reading. A library book with its laminated cover whose corners are like tiny knives. This may have happened this weekend.
Big books, I love you but our relationship is complicated – just the way it should be.

Stay Weird

