A Week of Awful Books: Day 6

There are a lot of aspects that go into making a book interesting: plot, setting, theme, rhythm, etc. All of these things folded together properly create something beautiful.
It’s like executing a perfect soufflé.
souffle
You mess up one item and the whole things a flop.
fallen-souffle
Character development is the egg whites of the story. If you don’t get them right, nothing else really stands a chance.

Characters have to be believable. They have to my relatable. They have to be compelling. But, they do not have to be likable. I’ve already gone on this diatribe in my review of The Magicians, so I’ll only touch on it briefly here. I do not need to like the characters I’m reading about, but I do need to be able to understand their motivation. A really horrible character that is believable is often more compelling than a really likable under developed character. Adjectives are not how to solve this problem. Describing in long, winding sentences the colour of someone’s eyes down to the tiny specks of blah, blah, blah is not going to make me want to learn about this character. Give me some meat. Make them do things. Actions. Thoughts. Words. The way other people see them. This is what’s going to get a character under your skin.

Boring characters are the death of my interest.
Boring

Secret Smile – Nicci French
smile
This book has a 4 star rating on Goodreads. I have no idea why. I read 60 pages and stopped. I didn’t care about a single character. Not a single one. I have little more to say about this book because I thought it was that boring. But that would make this way to short. So I read the blurb again and now wonder why I picked it up in the first place.

Miranda dated Brendan for a couple weeks and broke up with him. Now, a couple weeks later, he’s dating her sister and they’re already living together? And waiting for their new home to be finished? And everyone in her family takes his side?

Yeah. I think this one was my own fault. Let this be a lesson. Clearance splurging is not always worth it.

Stay Weird

