Writing Habits

I was browsing one of the blogs I follow and stumbled across a questionnaire on writing habits (she found it on  The YA League blog). I got thinking about my habits and decided I would participate.

1. Typed or Handwritten
Always typed. I keep character and setting databases on my computer and always have them open for reference.
If inspiration hits when I’m not near a computer, I will write by hand and type it when I get home.

2. Cursive or Printed
Cursive. Printing takes too much time. And I have pretty nice handwriting.

3. Show us your favorite pen
On the rare occasion I draft by hand at home, or just want to jot down thoughts, I use this stationary set.

image

4. Where do you like to write?
I like to settle into the corner of the couch, feet up in the coffee table, laptop in lap, beverage within reaching distance. I’ve recently realized that if I want to have a really good writing session, I need to be alone. When I’m around other people, I spend it observing instead of writing. And I talk to my characters a lot, alone makes me seem less crazy!

5. Who are your five favorite authors in terms of authorial style?
I had to think about this one! Who I like for style is different from who I like for connect.
David Levithan
Gail Carriger
Tomson Highway
Julian Barnes
Sherman Alexie

6. What are your three favorite books on writing?
I have no answer. Other than books I bought for university, I haven’t read books on writing. I prefer conversations with writers.

7. Have you ever competed in Nano?
Twice

8. Have you ever won Nano?
Once in 2011. My 2012 year didn’t even get to the halfway mark.

9. Have you ever been published?
Not yet, but I will make it happen.

10. What projects are you working on now?
A big content edit of my YA LGBT novel, Desperately Waiting before a submission blitz.
Chapter 20 of With Nowhere to Go – the second in a series of YA novels set in small town Alberta.

11. What is your soundtrack for writing?
I think this is an area where my answer be different from a lot of others. I don’t listen to music when I write. I like to have tv playing in the background. Specifically, old episodes of Project Runway and Top Chef.

12. Do you have a writing pump-up song?
My go to pump up song for all things is All Day by Girltalk

Stay Weird

