Free-for-All-Friday

Sometimes (and by that I mean often), I’m not very good at prepping my blog posts. And as noted in Monday’s post, I’ve lost the flash drive with the prepped items I had completed and my list of post ideas. So, since I can’t remember what I was going to write about today, and thinking about what was there makes me a little depressed, I’ve pulled another survey.

Do you snack when you read? Sometimes. I often read while I’m eating a meal, especially breakfast. As long as it’s something I can eat one handed, I’ll probably munch on it while I read.

What’s your favourite drink while reading?
Coffee. Hot. On ice. Specialty. Brewed. Any kind will do.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
If there’s something I want to mark in a book, I use those little post-it flags. I have a stash of them in my crafting drawer. I do not write in my books. I do not! If I lent a book to someone and they wrote in it, that could be a friendship ending event.

Fiction, non-fiction, or both?
Fiction almost exclusively.

How do you keep your place when reading a book?
My dad used to smack our fingers if he caught us folding down the page in a book – playfully of course, not in a bad way. He always said that if you can’t find your place in your book, it’s not a good enough book. This has stuck with all of us. When I’m done reading, I glance at the page number and I’m good to go.

Are you the type of person who tends to read to the end of the chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
If I can see the end of the chapter, I’ll read to it, but I actually prefer to stop elsewhere. Chapter endings are meant to hook you into the next chapter. This leads to just one more chapter syndrome. Which leads to trouble waking up in the morning. As long as I get to the end of a paragraph, I can stop anywhere in a chapter.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or onto the floor is the author irritates you?
No. What if I break the binding…. If a book’s bad, I just stop reading it. There is one exception. I have thrown exactly one book across the room in frustration. It happened about ten ysears ago. I remember it vividly. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. People raved about this book. It was not good.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you look it up right away?
Usually. I often do this more for pronunciation than for meaning. Otherwise, I’ll get hung up on the word. The smart phone has made doing this so much easier.

What are you currently reading?
Bird Box by Josh Malerman
Jaded by Kristy Feltenberger Gillespie
Cirque du Freak #1 by Darren Shan

What was the last book you bought?
I actually haven’t bought a book in a while. I’ve been living off my library holds. But the last ones I think I bought were the first three translated books in The Department Q series by Jussi Adler-Olsen.

image

Do you have a favourite time/place to read?
In the morning (on the weekends) on the swing on balcony with a blanket and a cup of coffee. See my avatar, that’s exactly where that picture was taken.

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?
Both. Stand alones often feel more complete, but if a series book isn’t written for the sole purpose of having a follow up, I love a good series. I tend to buy more series than stand alones.

Is there a specific book you find yourself recommending over and over?
I recommend a lot of books, but depending on who it’s for, the recommendations will change.

How do you organize your books?
I separate into hardcover and paperback – then alphabetical by author – then chronological. After they’ve been entered into the inventory spreadsheet.

image

Be sure to check out the delightful blog where I found this survey
Happy Friday!

Stay Weird

