Top Ten Tuesday – Book Covers

Today’s TTT prompt is book cover trends. This doesn’t really light my booky fire. My increased library use means I haven’t really been following the trends lately. I get whatever cover comes onto my holds shelf. So, instead, I’ve decided to list books that I chose solely based on the cover – with varying degrees of success.

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

TheNightCircus

I’ve talked about this one before. It’s my favourite book cover.

 

I Wear the Black Hat – Chuck Klosterman

16130377

I saw this cover before the book was released. I loved it so much that I went and found some of his other books to hold me over until the release date. It was a happy discovery.

 

The Diviners – Libba Bray

7728889

I devoured this book. YA. Paranormal. Period. Well written. Humorous. Do yourself a favour and read it.

 

Soulless – Gail Carriger

Print

Steampunk. Well done steampunk. Also paranormal. Delightful.

 

The Rook – Daniel O’Malley

The Rook

Man, this is a string of paranormal books. I loved the cover and the book’s weird ass characters.

 

Industrial Magic – Kelley Armstrong

6914086

This cover is what got me into the Women of the Otherworld series. It has exactly zero to do with the book. See anything similar to the last cover?

 

Wither – Lauren Destefano

8525590

A perfectly adequate YA dystopian novel. Nothing to write home about. But a beautiful cover.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

9460487

She’s floating. How could you not at least pick this one up.

 

The Thirteenth Tale – Diane Setterfield

40440

Pretty. It’s a pretty book. And it’s got beautiful paper. It’s also a great book.

 

Ghostgirl – Tonya Hurley

2508164

The cover is cute. Hardcover. Skinny. The coffin section is clear with the black silhouette. It’s the best thing about the book. It reads very young.

 

Bonus Cover… (Yeah, I know I’m cheating) : Her Name in the Sky – Kelly Quindlen

hnits

I actually read this one at the author’s request, but I think the cover is beautiful.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Book Covers

Stay Weird

