Throwback Thursday – Do you remember this book? Help!

Today’s throwback is actually a call for help. I’ve been desperately trying to remember some books I read when I was younger. The one that sticks out the most is one I read in elementary school. The author came in to talk to our class about it, so it would have been published sometime around 1989 – give or take a few years. It also seems to make sense that the author is probably Canadian – otherwise they probably would not have come to my tiny town. However, maybe this was an author that liked to travel. As I write this, I’m starting to think that maybe the author was female… Sitting in an excited huddle in the library is part of why this book sticks out for me. Other than that, I remember very, very little about this book. This is a wing and a prayer request.

I remember the cover the most distinctly. It was orange with a picture of a mirror in the middle and a tiger in one corner. There were other objects as well, but I can’t remember what they were. I think there was something in each corner of the mirror. Or maybe three things coming out of the mirror.

The content was about a small group of kids (two or three I think) and it might have been summer vacation. One of them finds a mirror in the attic and they somehow discover they can move through the mirror. It takes them into an alternate universe. It has something to do with that damn tiger. I believe at some point the things start to follow them back through the mirror, but it’s been over 20 years since I read this thing and I might be totally wrong. Who knows, maybe I’m making up the whole damn thing.

I think it was shelved with the books like Bridge to Terebithia and others like that. Does anyone have any idea what I’m talking about? Your assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks peeps!

5 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Do you remember this book? Help!

Stay Weird

