Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Own But Haven’t Read

top-ten-tuesday

This week I’m doing a variation on the Broke and Bookish TTT prompt. Books I own but have never gotten around to reading. These are books I actually, probably, think I want to read, but I’ve just never made it a priority to actually do it. There’s no excuse, other than sometimes, I forget to look at my shelf before I get all excited about a new book and run out to buy something new.

A quick scan of my bookshelf reveals that I have quite a few unread books. And that I need to do a donation to the library to get rid of stuff I’m never going to read. The covers shown are the covers on my shelf. Here are my unread books in order of how they are shelved:

ruin

Perfect Ruin by Lauren Destefano

My sister bought me this one for Christmas. I’ve enjoyed Destefano’s Chemical Gardens series. I was taking a break from dystopian novels when I received this book, so I put this one on the shelf to get back to in a couple months. Then I got distracted in my inability to temper my library loans and haven’t gotten around to picking it up yet.

5062

Jackdaws by Ken Follett

Another Christmas gift, this time from my mom (books are a given in our stockings at Christmas). Unlike the previous book, this one has been on the shelf for years. I’m not typically a fan of Follett – or historical fiction in general – but I do like fictional stories set during WWII that involve spies and Nazis and whatnot.

257971

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Another gift, but for my birthday this time. I keep meaning to read it. I want to read it. I like the tv show. My friends devoured these books. There was one trip to the lake where I was literally the only one not reading one of these books. I’ll get around to it one of these days. I swear.

3222979

Drood by Dan Simmons

I bought this one all by myself! It was on the discount table and looked interesting. It’s a fictional retelling of Charles Dickens and the inspiration for his famously unpublished story, Drood. I bought this in the wave of loving Wicked and retellings, before I realize just don’t love historical novels. It will probably take me a while to get through this one.

7507908

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

I liked the cover art. It’s about changelings – a myth I find intriguing. It’s not a long book, it’s just one of those ones that my eyes skim over when I’m looking at my shelf. However, I recently requested Paper Valentine from the library and discovered they were by the same author. If I like that one, I’ll probably read this one faster.

18079678

A Conspiracy of Faith by Jussi Adler-Olsen

If you’ve been reading this blog, you already know I like Adler-Olsen. This is the third one in the series. I haven’t read it yet because I wanted to restart the series before reading this one. It’s now been months and I still haven’t done it. I actual feel guilt when I look at these ones. I will get them re-read before the end of the year.

821467

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

People keep telling me to read this one. I somehow have a copy on my shelf, but I didn’t buy it. It might be my dad’s. I should check. I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever make time for this on.

1139452

Darkmans by Nicola Barker

I loved Barker’s Wide Open. This was the only one of her books the bookstore by my office had, so I bought it. I have yet to read it because the book is heavy – physically heavy. Like 1000 pages of heavy stock, oversized paper. It’s physically hard to hold. And it’s literary fiction, so probably emotionally heavy/fucked up. Finishing this book is my white whale.

1873351

Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon

A classic I bought somewhere at some time. I know I bought it. It’s also been on the shelf for years. I need to be in a particular mood to read this one and I haven’t found it yet. It’s Victorian crime fiction, written when it was historical fiction. I can do it. I’m sure I can…

2745816

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

This is one of those books I feel like I should read. I own an old, ratty copy of it that looks like it’s been read dozens of times. I think I borrowed it from someone, but I have zero idea of who it was. Sorry, book owning friend. This makes me a terrible person. Worse so, because I haven’t read it yet.

 

What’s been sitting on your shelf, waiting to have its booky destiny fulfilled?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Own But Haven’t Read

  1. The Replacement looks terrifying! I just got Paper Valentine by Brenna… So, if I really like that one, I’ll definitely try to get my hands on that one!

    Slaughter-House Five is definitely worth the read. It’s kooky, but you can’t expect anything less from Vonnegut.

  2. That mobile concept in The Replacement is pretty rad (if not chilling at the same time). I generally enjoyed Oryx and Crake but never got around to finishing the entire series because I skim-read it as part of my independent study in high school…so I ought to re-read it as well to see if my perceptions on it has changed since then!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • The mobile on the cover was totally the reason I bought the book! That and it was on sale for $2.99.

      People keep telling me Oryx and Crake is excellent, but I just can’t work up the interest to read it.

Stay Weird

