Throwback Thursday – Watership Down by Richard Adams

76620

Remember when you were a kid and there were all these great books and then they would make them into cartoons and everything was sunshine and roses? Yeah, that happened, but then there was also that movement in the 70s and 80s where cartoons weren’t always meant for kids and even the ones that were were not always ‘nice’ movies. But Watership Down had to be a nice movie, right? It’s about bunnies. Bunnies are adorable!

a-cute-bunnies-19

Right?

water_4

Wrong! This is a story about social politics (I think). It’s violent and scary.

untitled

I’ll admit that I’ve only seen the movie. I actually want to read the book now, but I’m a little scared of it. I remember it being damn terrifying – and I was older when I watched it. I remember very few of the details outside of bleeding bunnies.

Did anyone else watch this when they were younger? Or other movies/books that traumatized you?

Stay Weird

