Top Ten Tuesday – Lunch Table Round-up

It’s back to school time, even for the girls at The Broke and Bookish. Today’s prompt is to pick the ten fictional book characters that would sit at your lunch table. This is harder than it sounds. Not only because I haven’t had to think about the lunch room dynamic in a while, but because when I’m forced to come up with these lists, I can never think of any of the books I’ve read. After much research, I wittled it down and decided who I would want at my table. For the adult characters (including my own self), I’m translating them to seventeen year olds with essentially the same personalities.

We’re not the popular table, but we’re damn rad.

 

Luna Lovegood (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling) – I decided I could only have one Harry Potter character, and while you might suspect that it would be Neville, it’s actually Luna. I love how confident and flighty she is. She would fill any hole in the conversation. And she’s unexpectedly insightful. She’s the one who sees everything, even if you don’t expect it.

Cormoran Strike (Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith) – Every group needs a surly badass to scare the unwanted away. Also, he’s a detective. Cormoran wouldn’t be the talkative one, but he would have super useful skills.

Adam Vasic (Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong) – The table’s smartass hottie. Also a half-demon who can burn things with his touch. Varied skills for varied reasons.

Ender Wiggins (Ender’s series by Orson Scott Card) – The strategist. He’ll keep us organized and ahead of those who might attempt to damage our vibe.

Peeta Mellark – (The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins) – Think of the baking he would bring!

Lucy Pevensie (the Narnia Chronicles by C.S. Lewis) – She and Luna would be tight. They can see things others can’t because they accept the unbelievable. Also, Lucy is really good at finding cool stuff.

Elphaba Thropp (the Wicked Years by Gregory Maguire) – She’s an activist and smart and cool. Plus, she’s got rad green skin. We’d be bosom buddies.

Lisbeth Salander (the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson) – Every group should have a tech savvy hacker with hardly any social skills. She and Cormoran could be our silent book ends.

Sophie Winters (Far From You by Tess Sharpe) – The one that all the bad crap happens to. The drama magnet who keeps it away from the rest of us.

Myfanwy Thomas (The Checquy Files by Daniel O’Malley) – A secret agent with amnesia issues. She’s funny, sarcastic, and strange. She’s probably going to be the cause of several crazy adventures.

 

Who would be at your lunch table? There are more girls here than I expected. I actually enjoyed this list more than I expected. I might revisit this again on another week and do it with tv characters.

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Lunch Table Round-up

  1. Great post! I loved reading it. I agree with your choices. I would totally invite Lisbeth, Lucy and Peeta.

Stay Weird

