Top Ten Tuesday – Books I DNF’d

I’m going off book this week. I couldn’t figure out enough books to fill the theme this week so I’m coming up with my own. I’m doing a list of books I didn’t finish. I think that’s close enough. If I couldn’t finish it, there was something about it that was hard to read. I just can’t totally define why they were difficult. These aren’t necessarily terrible books. They’re just books that I could not get through. Sometimes, the words just don’t move a girl. But, just cause I didn’t finish them doesn’t mean there’s not a book in here for you. Maybe you’ll be drawn to something.

This week, I’m including a little who I would recommend these books to section.

ttt1
The Witch of Cologne by Tobsha Leaner

This book involves midwives, ancient Jewish faith, noblemen, gender swapping, and a chart at the beginning of the novel to explain who everyone is. That should have been my first hint that this probably wasn’t the book for me. I picked it up because of the title and the cover and it was like $3. It’s a super historic novel. It’s just too heavy for me.

Recommended for: fans of history novels with complex plots and a massive number of characters
ttt2

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

The story of American twin sisters who inherit a London home from an aunt they’ve never met. They’re odd girls. They have a super intense relationship. Their aunt’s ghost still lives in the apartment and there’s this very strange upstairs neighbour. I love the concept of this novel. I love the writing style. I like that it’s a little off, but there’s something about it that makes it nearly impossible to get in to. I put it aside for what was supposed to be a minute and it’s now been two years.

Recommended for: people who like ethereal kinds of stories with wildly unbelievable plots
ttt3

A Lion Among Men by Gregory MaGuire

The third book in the Wicked Years series. The first one was good. The second one was great. The fourth one was engaging. This one was something else entirely. It was boring. I didn’t want it to be boring. I wanted it to be awesome. A story from the perspective of the cowardly lion? Cool. Something went horribly awry. I only got about halfway through.

Recommended for: people who like slow story telling with a story that moves around a lot – and people who are obsessed with reading all the books in a series (like me)
ttt4

Biting Bad by Chloe Neill

When I started reading the Chicagoland Vampires series, I loved it. The first few books were great. Around book four it started to peter off for me. I knew I was getting less and less interested. I started Biting Bad, but I knew a couple chapters in that I’d lost my fire for the series. The problem for me is that I feel like there’s no anticipation. The payoffs always happen so quickly. This is book eight I think and I don’t think it’s even been a year for the characters. I need my characters to have to live in their feelings for a while. That being said, I know several people that love, love, love this series.

Recommended for: people who are fans of vampire series with pop culture references and want a protagonist that isn’t a teenager
ttt5

Lolita by Vladimir Nobokov

I wanted to read this book to see what all the hype was about. I figured it couldn’t be that bad. People were being prudey. Nope. I hated the narrator so much. So so much. This story isn’t beautiful and tender. It is not. Stop saying that. Adults are always responsible for their relationships with children. Always. The book is well written. I could appreciate the writing, but I just could not stomach the content.

Recommended for: fans of classic literature who want to read them all
ttt6

Raven: The Untold Story of the Rev. Jim Jones and his People by Tim Reiterman

This book is physically difficult to read – It’s big and heavy – literally. It’s just a big book. That makes it not a friendly purse or bed book. Drop this thing on your face when you fall asleep and you might lose an eye. It’s actually a pretty interesting book, written by a journalist that got involved with Jones and his People’s church. I keep taking it out of the library, but I just can’t seem to get very far into it. It’s one I want to get back to, even though I know the content is going to be difficult.

Recommended for: people interested in cults and how their leaders become established
ttt7

The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead

I grabbed this one as a cheapy e-book buy when I first got my reader and was trying to fill it with stuff. The idea was neat – time travellers who are trying to piece together a map of time that was previously inked on someone’s skin. It’s okay. It’s not a hard read contentwise, but it’s just a bit of a slog. It doesn’t really have anything to grab onto to carry you through.

Recommended for: fans of generic YA urban fiction series
ttt8

A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore

This is a good book! Before all you Moore fans start yelling at me. I recognize that this is actually a pretty funny book. I liked what I read. This suffered from the fact that I really just don’t like to read in a digital format. I get distracted easily. It’s hard on the eyes – maybe it’s because it’s a mini and I need a bigger screen. I like the feel of a book. I forget about my e-reader all the time. The only time I really appreciate it is when I’m on an airplane. I will get back to this one at some point. I want to keep reading it.

Recommended for: fans of dark, sarcastic, comedy
ttt9

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

This is the follow up to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, which I really liked. I was excited about this book. About this becoming a series. But it’s lost its magic. The plot felt unformed and uninteresting. The characters no longer pulled me in. I found myself unable to care about Miss Peregrine’s plight to get out of bird form. It’s hard read a follow up to a good book that’s just kind of dull.

Recommended for: fans of the first book I guess…
ttt10

Boy Proof by Cecil Castellucci

I picked this book up based on a John Green recommendation (from a vlog). It’s short. There’s really no excuse for not finishing this, but Egg – the central character – was about as interesting as the kitchen item. It felt a little freak boy meets freak girl and things happen. I couldn’t find a way to be interested in either of these characters. Also, it makes fun of Doctor Who. This is something you just don’t do if you expect to stay in my life. You just don’t do it.

Recommended for: for girls who think they are boy proof? Maybe?

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I DNF’d

Stay Weird

