Top Ten Tuesday – Places Books Make Me Want to Go

Travelling is one of those things I wish I did more often. But it’s expensive and I only have so many vacation days from work. For those people like me, who want to travel but can’t, we use our books to escape to places we might never otherwise get to – sometimes because they’re fictional and believing we’d actually visited there would be the sign of some kind of disorder. There were a few of these places that came to mind immediately (the first three on the list), but the others, I ended up going through my Goodreads list to find. If I couldn’t remember where a book took place, I probably wasn’t that inspired by the setting. Also, I’ve been reading a lot of dystopian fiction over the last couple years. Mostly, I don’t want to go to those places. But let’s get to the meat of this week’s top ten Tuesday – Places Books Have Made Me Want to Visit

942027-hogwarts_castleLovegoodHouse

Hogwarts/ Luna’s House – Harry Potter Series

I’m sure this will make a few lists but it was my immediate thought when I read the topic. Who doesn’t want to go to Hogwarts? Man, I would love to be a teacher there. Best job ever. No tiring commute. House elves providing food whenever you want it. Getting to teach teens cool ass shit. Yeah, there’s the occasional attack or random weirdness, but Harry’s gone now, so that’s bound to happen less. Is it cheating to pick two places from the same book? Nope. It is not. I want to go to Luna’s house. I love that strange little place. Also, maybe the Burrows. Bah, let’s just say I want to go pretty much everywhere in the Potter books.

THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA: THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE

Winter Narnia – The Chronicles of Narnia

Yes – I’m being specific here. I want to go to Narnia – in the winter, before they defeat the White Queen. It’s the perfect winter setting. I love winter. I live in a place that gets it like a million months a year – or at least eight. Narnia winter is what I wish we had every time it’s so cold that walking outside literally, instantly, hurts your face. Winter Narnia is my perfect setting.

chicago

Chicago – The Chicagoland Vampire Series and Divergent and Will Grayson, Will Grayson

I have wanted to go to Chicago for a long time. It seems like an easily attainable goal, but somehow, I’ve never gotten there. I want to go eat all the damn food. And see all the architecture. And the bean. And so many other things. All of these books make me want to go there – even dystopian future Divergent. The Chicagoland Vampire Series makes Chicago sound like a magical place – and not just because of the paranormal crap. The author clearly adores this city.

sweden

Sweden – The Millennium Trilogy

These books technically didn’t make me want to go to Sweden. I’ve wanted to go there for a long time. I love their politics. I love their culture. They have winter. I’d move there if they weren’t so strict about the requirements you need to meet to get over their borders. So, I chose to read this series partly because I want to go to Sweden. However, reading the books made me want to go even more. They made me do some serious research into what it would take to move there. For now, I’m staying here, but maybe someday.

oz

Oz – The Wizard of Oz and The Wicked Years

Who doesn’t want to go to Oz? Not just the Emerald City, but the land of Oz. The whole darn thing. The poppy fields. Munchkinland. The Witch’s Castle. Notice how I mentioned two different versions of Oz up there? Yeah, that’s because there are two different versions of The Land of Oz portrayed in these books. I want to visit both.

New-York

New York – Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

This book is so cute and quaint – and it presents that idea of New York. It’s not all popular land marks and easily identifiable places (although it does include those). It inspires a sense of adventure and fun that you don’t always get from the cool, hip versions of New York.

google-london-headquarter

Google Headquarters – Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore

Can I work here? Please? If the information presented in this book is even partially true, I am down with Google’s leadership ideas. And there’s a cereal bar! All the cereal you can eat! Best idea ever. Every business should have one of these. I love cereal.

Green-Gables

Green Gables – Anne of Green Gables

For those of you who may think otherwise – this is absolutely a real place. I’ve been there. This is the location of my most memorable childhood family vacation. Located on Prince Edward Island, it is adorable. You don’t just get the house. You get the grounds and the forest and everything. If you love Anne, you should really go.

le-cirque-des-reves-02

Le Cirque de Reves – The Night Circus

I was talking to a friend of mine while I was putting this list together and this book came up. I read this book when it first came out and I haven’t read it since. I still have incredibly vivid images of the circus in my brain. There are certain tents still have a place in my head. The scent tent and the clouds and so many others. I am in love with this circus. I would spend my entire life there if it was real.

catching-fire-arena-2

The Arena– Catching Fire Remember how I started this list by saying dystopian books mostly did not fit with this topic? This is my exception. The arena in the second b

ook of the Hunger Games trilogy is somewhere I would love to go. I mean I would like to be there without all the running for your life and the dying and such. Like on a tour after the fact or something. The clock idea is so friggin cool. The movie’s presentation of the arena solidified this desire.

 

I have an honourable mention this week. It’s a place I think I should want to go. First blush, I was sure this place would make the list. But the more I thought about it, the more sure I wouldn’t actually want to go there. Where is this place? It’s Wonderland. I feel like I should want to go there, but the idea of it would be better than the actual experience. All the people unable to give a straight answer might make me insane. I’ll let Wonderland live in perfection in my mind.

Where do books make you want to go?

 

As a totally unrelated sidenote – WordPress techy people- I loathe the new uploader. Every single time I make an update it loses all y damn formatting and I basically have to redo my post. It’s lamesauce.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Places Books Make Me Want to Go

  1. I just visited Chicago this summer and it was absolutely phenomenal! We rode the elevator up the Hancock Building and I wished there was a zipline like in “Divergent”! We had some delicious deep-dish pizza, visited the Art Institute and took a boat tour with the Chicago Architecture Foundation. And of course we took pictures with The Bean. We were there for the Lollapalooza music festival but we made sure to see as much of the city as we could!

  2. New York is wonderful! I would live there if someone would pay me enough to support myself in that city. I’ve been 3 times and I feel like I’ve only scratched the surface of what the city has to offer. My favourite places/things to do are MOMA, The Strand (bookstore), the backstage tour of Radio City Music Hall (so much history, so much well preserved Art Deco features and you get to meet a Rockette!) and just wandering around. I still haven’t ventured out to Brooklyn, but it’s on my list for the next time I go!

  3. The Strand is really incredible! It’s like a library and the shelves are so tall they feel like they could reach the ceilings. It’s overwhelming in the best possible way.

    I don’t know why I didn’t mention this in my first comment, but I love Green Gables too. It is one of my favourite memories of my family’s trip down east when I was 7. I didn’t have a chance to explore the woods though. There was a storm rolling in as we finished touring the house and I was so disappointed.

    • I was a few years older when we went. Twelve maybe. I got to go exploring those woods by myself for like an hour. It was awesome. It’s actually the part I remember the most. That and the miniature theme park place down the road. Tell me you went there, too!

Stay Weird

