Throwback Thursday – Log Driver’s Waltz

Today’s post isn’t book related. It’s Canada related. When I was a kid, there used to be these shorts released by the National Film Board of Canada. They covered a plethora of topics Canadiana. They were on tv. They were shown in school. They were pretty prevalent. The one I, and most of the people I know, remember most distinctly is the log driver’s waltz. I can sing the chorus of the song by heart and a good chunk of the rest of it. You mention this song in a group of people of a certain age and we will probably start singing it. It’s apparently one of the most requested NFB shorts. This makes me think of a happy childhood.

If you’ve never seen this before, make sure you watch to at least the 45 second mark. That’s when everything changes 🙂

 

Canadian friends – do you have any other NFB vids you remember?

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Log Driver’s Waltz

  1. Garner was talking about this on my drive to work this morning! I love it so much! I remember The Big Snit, The Cat Came Back, The Hockey Sweater and The Dingles. I clearly watched a lot of CBC as a kid.

    • The cat came back and the hockey sweater – I remember those. I’ll have to go watch the other one to see if they trigger anything.
      Hockey sweater talk always makes me want to watch The Raccoons. Is that weird?

  2. The other two are kind of strange, but I think that’s why I remember them. And it’s not weird at all that The Hockey Sweater reminds you of The Raccoons! I loved that show!

Stay Weird

