Top Ten Tuesday – Re-Reads

Re-reading is one of those things that people tend to have very strong feelings about. Either you’re a re-reader or you aren’t – generally. I fall in the ‘are’ camp. I like to re-read. I feel a little sad whenever some tells me they never re-read/watch anything. That’s like meeting someone you really like and never seeing them again, cause that one time was good enough. I think if a book is good enough, it deserves a re-read. You catch so much more detail the second/third/fourth time through. You see connections. You see how much time and effort an author put in to making sure everything comes together just the way it’s supposed to. The last few years, I’ve put my re-reading on hold. I’ve been trying to read a certain number of books a year – and re-reads didn’t count. This year, I decided to revisit the re-read. I’ve been stockpiling these books. So, when I saw this week’s Broke and Bookish prompt, I knew this would be an easy week for me. The hardest part is going to be keeping it to only ten. I’m including a few series – they totally count as one book. They do. Accept it.

hp

Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

If you’ve been reading the blog, you know I’ve already started this re-read, but I’ve got the three longest books left, so I’m totally including it. I probably won’t finish it this year. I don’t really need to talk about this one too much cause I’ve already done it here, and here, and here, oh yeah, and here.

keeper

The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen

This one has been taunting me from my shelf for a couple months. I picked it up last month to start my re-read and got sidetracked by other books with a return date. I plan to get back to it shortly so that I can get on with reading the rest of the series. In the little bit of the re-read I’ve completed, I did notice the translation problems more glaringly than I did on the first read. This leads to an entirely different issue I’ll probably blog about – who the hell is responsible for these atrocious translations! For another day.

gone

The Gone Series by Michael Grant

I was talking about this series recently with a friend who teaches jr high. It made me want to go back and re-read the series from beginning to end without the years long wait between the first and last book. I’ve only read these books once, so it’s been several years since I read the first one. The concept was super interesting. It’s a series I think deserves a read meant for a review. Also, I just found these awesome black covers. I want these so badly! Are these a thing that’s actually available or were they a special release?

divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I recently watched the movie (as I mentioned in my series post) and decided that I needed to re-read the first book. The third book has skewed my opinion of the entire series so badly that I want to go back and re-read this one to see if I get the same spark I got the first time I read it.

KellyArmstrong3PB

The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong

A YA series about a teenage necromancer and a covert organization trying to wrangle all the kids with powers – the makings of a clearly entertaining read. It’s not the strongest of the YA trilogies I’ve read, but there just aren’t enough books about necromancers. It was an enjoyable, simple read and I like to revisit it from time to time.

flynn

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

I love Flynn. Her books are so dark and twisty and tormented. I’ve re-read the other two already this year. I plan to get to this one before the end of December and get the whole trifecta in in one calendar year. I think this book is my favourite of the three, but it was the first one I read and I’ve only read it the once. We’ll see if it stands up to the test. Maybe it’ll be my Christmas read this year. You know, cause it’s so pleasant and happy…

rowling

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

It’s a Rowling kind of year. I’ve read a lot of her books. I really liked this book the first time I read it. I was reading it knowing that so many people had disliked it. I’ve read her other adult books and seriously enjoy them. This one deserves a revisit for all the reasons I was mentioning at the beginning. I think there will be a lot of details worked into this one that I missed the first time through.

wicked

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

People were raving about Wicked the first time I read it. Everyone loved it. It seemed like exactly the kind of thing I should love. And I did really like it. But it wasn’t what everyone was raving about. People were into the musical. I was unprepared for how dark the book was going to be. And it has a lot of historical content. I want to re-read this one to pick up on nuances I missed in the first speed read. And then I’ll probably work my way through the rest of the series and maybe actually get through the third book.

light

A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

This book has stayed with me. It has this haunting, tortured quality to it. Part of that was the writing. Part of that was the reader. I’ll be listening to this one on audiobook again. It was such a compelling read the first time. I’m actually really looking forward to this one. I’ve been thinking about it for a while.

rook

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

O’Malley’s debut book was one of the quirkiest and most entertaining books I’ve read in the last couple years. I was so much fun. The second book is supposed to come out some time in 2015. There is so much going on in this book that I need to re-read it before I can even attempt to read that one. I look forward to being entertained by this book one more time.

 

Writing this post has actually made me realize how badly I want to re-read some of these books. Since this year is so close to an end, 2015 might be my year of the re-read! Anything you think is so good it deserves multiple reads?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Re-Reads

      • Ah! Yeah, that didn’t appeal to many readers either. I personally just felt a lot of story-line was really muddled in delivery and felt like there could have been more given to explain things. (On the record: I was fine with how the book ended, although much to the dismay of hundreds of thousands of fandoms.)

Stay Weird

