Top Ten Tuesday – Books From Santa

Books are kind of a staple present in my house at Christmas. Everyone usually gets at least one book or book related item. Sometimes, it’s all books, all the time. I’m giving eleven books as gifts this year – a good chunk of them to my niece and nephew who are just starting to get into reading. Watching how excited my nephew gets when I give him a book and sitting down to read it with him is honestly one of my favourite things about being an aunt. I love that this kid has picked up this habit.

But that’s not really the point of this post. The girls over at B&B want to know what books I want to get from Santa this year. I’m rarely unhappy with a book, but there are a few that I would love to find under the tree. These are books that I really like but don’t happen to own a copy of – or books where I want a different edition. I’m weird about cover art. I’m also kind of obsessed with trade paperbacks. It’s my preference. I want that version of all these books unless otherwise specified.

circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I’ve talked about this book before. I love it. I want to re-read it. I adore the cover. Somehow, I don’t own a copy.

Gone min Gone black

The Gone Series by Michael Grant

I own four of the six books in this series. I want the last two, but I really want to replace them all with the new minimalist covers. I would then donate the ones I own to my teacher friend’s library for her grade seven English students. I actually really want the black hard cover editions, but I cannot find anywhere to order them from.

ttt1

Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

I want this one in hard cover, because that’s how I have the rest of her books (and the only format I think they come in). I own her other three books, so I need this one.

rook

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

I own an e-copy, but I would love to own the physical book.

giver

The Giver Series by Lois Lowry

I have a worn down, well read, paperback version of the first book that I will always keep, but I’d like a matching set of all four books.

oz

Out of Oz by Gregory Maguire

I cannot seem to track down the mass market paperback version of this book. I have the first three in this format. They have the pretty coloured sides. I bucked my own traditions and chose to buy the other version because I liked the way they look. And now that seems to have screwed me over. I can’t even find a picture of the mmp to post here.

verne

Jules Verne Collection

There’s a really pretty collected works. I want to own it. It would also maybe get me to actually read Verne’s writing. Something I keep meaning to do and then not getting around to.

diviners

The Diviners by Libba Bray

Another book where I own the ebook and want the physical book. And with the sequel coming out next year, this would be the perfect time to get it.

paper

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

I have no idea what this book is about or whether it’s any good, but the cover is so pretty. I just want to covet it and own it and make it mine.

every you

Every You Every Me by David Levithan

I love this book. I don’t actually own any of Levithan’s books. This needs to be righted. Immediately. Santa knows I deserve it.

 

What gifts are you hoping to unwrap this year?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books From Santa

  1. I loved reading The Giver!! And 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne is a book I’ve read 2-3 times already… It’s one of my favorite reads ever. 🙂

    The Night Circus is already in my ‘to be read’ pile… I should move it up the list.

    Nice list!! I hope you receive all the books on your list!! Here’s my TTT list for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2014/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-i-wouldnt.html

    Happy holidays!!

    • I love The Night Circus. It’s not a book for everyone, but it has the most beautiful imagery.

      I have the worst time posting to BlogSpot blogs with my WordPress ID, but I checked out your list. Beauty Queens is awesome! I really recommend this one on audiobook. Bray reads it herself and has this delightful little thing she does with her footnotes.

Stay Weird

