Top Ten Tuesday – Books from Childhood Revisited

I’m not sure I’m 100% on board for revisiting these books. Generally when I’ve re-read a book I loved as a youngster, I start to question my sanity – especially as a teen. However, these books stick out in my brain as formative for whatever reason. Some are from when I was a kid and some were teen years. They’re all what they are.

And this is by no list all inclusive. It could go on forever. I keep remember more and more books.

Pike

Scavenger Hunt by Christopher Pike

I remember hiding in corners of the school so I could read this book without interruptions. It was my favourite Pike book. I remember it kind of freaking me out. Now, I can hardly remember what it was about, but I think it’s probably better to live with the happy memories than to actually re-read.

dawn

The Cutler Novels by V.C. Andrews

My favourite of all Andrews’ series. Read the first book in one sitting. Stayed up all night. On a Wednesday. My first mid-week bookover.

cornwell

The Body Farm by Patricia Cornwell

This book got me into my obsession with adult crime drama. And it made me want to work for the FBI, but I like universal health care, so here we are.

martin

The Baby-Sitters Club by Ann M. Martin

My friend and I started our own baby sitters club, but we never actually got around to putting up any of the posters. So the only jobs we worked were the ones we were already working.

saul

Suffer the Children by John Saul

Creepy ghost girl. Adult ‘horror’. I loved Saul as a kid. I read as many of his books as I could.

wilder

Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder

I only read the first book, but I read it like a hundred times. It was always on my shelf. It wasn’t really my style, even when I was in the single digits, but I did read the damn thing a lot.

narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis

A family staple.

keene

Nancy Drew Files by Carolyn Keene

Sure, I read the originals and they were rad, but I adored the reboot of the Nancy Drew Case Files. I read them whenever I could get my hands on them. I have no idea where these books went. I’m sad I no longer own them.

beldon

Trixie Beldon by a couple authors apparently

These were my mom’s books from when she was a kid. I guess these were my first real mystery novels. I remember liking them because Trixie was feisty. And I believe one of the books was about spelunking.

I have two books I can’t really include in this list, but I have to. I think about them all the time. I have no idea what they were called, who they were by, or anything really. They are Weird Japanese book and Weird tiger book. That is how I refer to them in my head. I know the Japanese book is somewhere in my parents’ basement. My mother found it once – called to tell me she had but had already put it away couldn’t find it again. More aggravating than if she’d never found it. The other one… well knows. I know it came out in around the mid to late 80s. It was shelved never Bridge to Terabithia. It had an orange cover. It was probably written by a Canadian author.

What were your childhood/teenage staple reads?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books from Childhood Revisited

Stay Weird

