Top Ten Tuesday – What Are You Up To?

I found this topic extremely difficult. I didn’t think I would, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that the recent penchant for serializing everything (even when it doesn’t need it) means I know pretty much everything I need to know about most characters, or there are books to come that will satisfy my desire to revisit, or there are more books and I haven’t cared enough seek them out. Honestly, sometimes, I just like to make up the rest of the story in my head.

But, here are the list of characters I found intriguing enough that I want to know what happened after their final pages in their respective novels. Several of these are couples/pairs.

hogwarts

Luna and Neville – Harry Potter

Did they fall for one another? Become good friends? Go their separate ways and become rad pillars of the wizarding community? I like to think they’re raising fiercely independent children together. Basically, I’d like to know about most of the secondary characters. Seamus and Dean. Cho. The twins. 

Gone

Astrid and Diana – The Gone Series

It now occurs to me that I can’t remember if Diana survived this series. I think I need to re-read it. But these were two cool chicks. I’d like to know what became of them as adults after their experience in the dome.

french

Rob/Adam – In the Woods

Where did he go? Is he still a cop? Did he ever remember what happened in the woods? Which identity is he going by now?

gonegirl

Nick and Amy – Gone Girl

Come on, how can you not want to know what came of this nightmare of a relationship? And their kid?

meyers

Wanderer – The Host

I guess this is more of an overall for her species. Did they stay? If they did, what does she do when her host body dies? And when Ian dies?

braff

Jacob Green – The Unthinkable Thoughts of Jacob Green

When last we saw him, he was a teenager. What kind of adult does he become? Does he continue to practice Judaism or give it up because of his father?

penumbra

Clay Jannon – Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore

This book was fun. I want to go on another adventure with Clay.

green levithan

Both Will Graysons – Will Grayson/Will Grayson

Again, they were teenagers in the book. Just starting to get their shit together. I’d like to see how they are as friends and as adults. Do they develop a relationship because of their name kinship?

armstrong

Chloe and Derek – Darkest Powers Trilogy

A teen necromancer with a surly teenage werewolf? That’s just got fun times written all over it.

circus

Poppet and Widget – The Night Circus

They’re ethereal and playful and delightful. I want to spend more time in their story. In their tents.

What about you? Who do you want to revisit?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – What Are You Up To?

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one that had trouble finding characters I actually wanted to know more about, but that may have just been because I have a hard time remembering who dies and what exactly the ending is, but then when I revisit the book I remember.

  2. Huh, I’ve never heard anyone say that reading series ensures they know everything about the characters they want to know. Very interesting! I read series for exactly that reason — I like delving deep into their lives/backstories/psyches.

    I’ve read the GONE series, but I can’t remember what happens to Diana. I think she lives?? I also love Tana French.

    Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    • Series don’t ensure I get everything, they just usually give me enough that I don’t need to know more. I’m satisfied with where the series has left me. There are probably lots that I’d like to know more about, but most of the time when I’m making these lists, I’m struck by those moments of ‘I can’t remember anything I’ve ever read’!
      I’m in the middle of Faithful Place. French is one of my favourite discoveries of the last year.

Stay Weird

