Top Ten Tuesday – Tea for Two, or Coffee, or Beer, or Whatever

I’m not in love with the topic this week, but here we are – authors I’d really like to meet. (Is it just me, or does it feel like this  topic by the ladies of The Broke and Bookish is a bit of a repeat of favourite authors week?) I know it might seem weird, but I don’t really have a desire to meet famous folk. I go to a couple comic conventions a year and I’m not one of those people doing the autographs and photos. I have nothing against it. It’s just not my thing. What I like to do are the panels. The big group sessions where people come in and talk about their projects and their lives. I don’t get to meet them on an individual level, but I get to hear a lot about them. It feels like I get more out of those than a quick run through in a line. And there are other people in the panels who have questions I wouldn’t have considered. I feel like one on one, I sometimes lose my train of thought – especially when it’s with someone I admire. So, I don’t know. Part of me wants to just go listen to these people talk. Another part of me wants to sit down with them over coffee and talk to them about stuff, not necessarily writing. I would hate to have books I love ruined if our meeting was disappointing.

Also, I’m only picking living authors. This isn’t séance time.

summers

Courtney Summers

I’ve reviewed several Summers books recently, so it should come as no surprise that I would want to meet her. I love her take on YA fiction and on how girls treat each other. Her approach to realism is right on. Also, we’re both Canadian. Yay us!

 winterson

Jeanette Winterson

Her writing is so lyrical. I just want to know more about her style and how she remains true to that in the face of publishing demands.

green

John Green

I write contemporary young adult novels. Why would I not want to talk to someone who’s exploded their way into the genre? Also, his youtube videos are pretty entertaining. Although, I think he might be a bit exhausting. He seems to have a lot of energy.

gaiman

Neil Gaiman

He reads his own audiobooks. He’s a master at what he does. I think he would have unbelievable insight into more than just writing.

french

Tana French

She’s Irish. I’d probably just want to listen to her speak. Also, she writes the type of mystery/crime novels I love. I’d like to know how she deals with responses to her open endings.

3023658

Brenna Yovanoff

Her writing is so damn creepy. I’d like to see what she’s like in person.

flynn

Gillian Flynn

Mostly, I just want to find out when her next damn book is coming out! And to see what it was like to go from journalistic writing to fiction.

pike

Christopher Pike

Purely for nostalgic reasons. Man, I loved these books so much as a teen.

kuehnert

Stephanie Kuehnert

She seems like a cool chick. She’s got a perspective I can respect as a 90’s teen.

JK+Rowling+JK

J.K. Rowling

There’s no way that this pick should surprise anyone.

Who would you pick? What do you think about meeting people you admire? Do you fear they’ll disappoint you?

Stay Weird

