Wearable Wednesday – Dirty Schmirty

Remember a couple weeks ago when I was talking about my dislike for pinkifying superhero logos? Yeah, well, I may have bought a fabric that did exactly that. But it’s cute while still being rad. And some girls like pink. And there’s nothing wrong with that. And the background is blue with a black and white checked lightning bolt. It’s not so terrible.

This is another new pattern, and this one looks like it might fit a little small, but that could be because some of the other patterns are so insanely large that I don’t know what I’m looking at! This dress is a little different from the others I’ve posted because it has no home. It’s just a dress that’s starting my stockpile until I see if I want to sell these at local farmer’s markets. Or if anyone is even interested in buying them. If not, then I guess my niece is going to get an avalanche of dresses at some point.

I played with the fabrics on this pattern a little bit and changed up the design of the skirt. I think it’s super cute. Maybe a little monastic looking… is it just me? The almighty religion of the superhero? I guess it makes sense.

Typically, I look at fabrics and decide how to pair them based on patterns and colours and whatever mood I’m in that day. So, when I looked at this one, I decided it would look adorable with white. Then my friend with a daughter looked at it. She agreed that it was adorable, but that I clearly didn’t have kids. That dress is a dirt magnet. I say bah, whatever. Supergirls are gonna get dirty.

Here’s the fabric and the dress that it inspired.

fabric6

dress6

Stay Weird

