Top Ten Tuesday – Watch it, Mister!

Hearing that one of your favourite books is being made into a movie or tv show is a funny thing. There’s an initial spark of excitement, but then there’s the well-deserved trepidation. This is how I’m currently feeling about The Casual Vacancy mini-series. What if they fucked it up? We all want our books to become the next Harry Potter or Gone Girl or Game of Thrones. To be cast with exceptional skill. To honour the subject matter while still making it watchable (even if that means sometimes changing things). To become a form of entertainment in itself.

But for each of those gems, there’s a dud. And the duds seem to land a lot heavier. With great resounding thuds. The Host, Bitten, The Firm are just a few of the ones that have gone astray. So, when I saw this week’s B&B topic, I was both excited and leery. But, since this is just a wish list and it will all go perfectly in my head, here are the books I’d like to experience in a visual format.

After starting this list, I realized that it’s harder than I thought it would be. A lot of the books I looked at have already gotten the on screen treatment.

wicked

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

Okay, yes, I know this is already a stage production. And I enjoyed the play for what it was. But I want something that actually represents this series for what it is – a highly political drama. This is no happily ever after. It’s so far removed from the play and its original source material that it’s almost an entirely separate thing. Just imagine what the BBC could do with this.

12109772

Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

A movie. This would make an amazing, creepy, ethereal movie. Keep it quiet and spooky. Don’t give it some stupid YA makeover. Teens can get behind something complex. This would be a great one to do it with.

larsson

The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

Yup, already done, but can we just finish off the American version? I rewatched the movie yesterday to make sure I wasn’t misremembering it. I also own the Swedish movies. I know they exist. I love them, but I loved the vibe of the Fincher movie. I really want to see the last two books round things out.

Gone min

The Gone Series by Michael Grant

This series is right up the paranormal teen drama alley. It’s got six books with enough material and characters for several seasons. I’m surprised it’s not in the works already.

ttt4

The Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neill

Now, this might seem like a strange choice. I stopped reading the series at book seven because I didn’t like it anymore. I could not get behind its direction. But I think it would make a super fun Space/Syfy channel program (as long as it doesn’t follow the same track as Bitten).

grossmand

The Magicians Series by Lev Grossman

Have at it HBO. As someone I know described it – a pretentious, grown up, literary version of Harry Potter. I quickly corrected her. It’s more Narnia than Harry Potter. But it’s definitely those other descriptors, and it knows exactly what it’s doing. That’s what makes it great. I picture it with the GoT treatment. Not backing off from the sex and violence and offputtingness.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00012]

14 by Peter Clines

In a sort of homage to traditional horror/sci-fi storytelling, this book is super entertaining and delightful. It would make an awesome mini-series.

lockhart

We Were Liars by e. lockhart

I’m on the fence about this one. I think it could be filmed in a way that would make it downright creepy. But, I don’t know if the lyricism of book could be captured on film. It would definitely have to be in a movie format.

ttt3

Weirdo by Cathi Unsworth

I picture this one getting the Broadchurch treatment. Christ, they could just adapt the novel into a season (right, British, series) of Broadchurch. Can someone with some kind of pull read this and get that idea across the pond and make it happen?

21873054

Black Apples Fairy Tale Collection

Picture Alfred Hitchcock presents but modern and instead of a Hitchcock story, every episode would be a different, dark as fuck, fairy tale. This would probably live on Showtime. And it would probably be fantastic. It could grow to include more than this book, but this would be a good place to start.

What made your list this week? Any overlaps?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Watch it, Mister!

  1. I had trouble with my list too – a lot of books I would have picked have already been made into a movie or show. (Some better than others.) I thought this was a tough topic this week. Great picks, and I especially agree on Wicked. There is a lot more to that series than the musical.

    • Agreed, I thought it would be super easy, but sometimes, I just want a book to be a book. Then I get to have everything the way I want it in my head.

Stay Weird

