Wearable Wednesday – Turn Left

If you’re a regular blog reader, you should know by now that I am a huge Doctor Who fan. I used to watch it as a kid. Now I watch it religious/repetitively as an adult – can we just get a date for the new series already! I used to watch it with my dad, and now my niece watches it with me. Now, she normally doesn’t make it through the entire show, but she’s four, so that is not abnormal. My sister tells me stories about how she gravitates towards show merch when they go into stores with Doctor Who stuff. It warms my nerdy heart.

I want all my friends to watch and love the show. But I don’t have my head in the sand. I know not everyone will love it – even though that is so very foreign to me. Even as I typed that, a tiny little voice in my head is yelling – how can anyone not love this show. But, I get it, especially the early series. I love them and appreciate them for what they are, but for me, they aren’t the highlights of the show. They are better in a rewatch capacity. Matt Smith is my doctor. Rory is my favourite companion. Amy and Rory’s relationship is one of the most emotionally impactful storylines in the series. That’s where my heart lives. But Donna and her story runs a close second.

I have a couple friends that have been slowly watching the show. They have not really gotten on the DW train. But, they’ve continued to push through, which I appreciate. We were talking about it a little over the weekend, and they’re watching series four. And their opinion seems to be picking up. Woot! I don’t expect them to love it like I do, but hearing positive things is always fun. The episode Turn Left came up in discussion as one that stuck out. This is an episode I tend to forget about, but whenever I watch it, I remember how much I love what it’s about. The message to trust your instincts, even if those instincts are hella scary. That you never know how your involvement in someone else’s life will impact them. Yeah, I mean most of us probably aren’t going to have Donna level stuff – the flying titanic isn’t going to crash into the earth (and that’s good cause honestly, that episode is terrible)– but maybe. Just go with what you think is right for you.

So, the day after this conversation, I was looking through my fabric bin trying to decide what I was going to make. I have this amazing Tardis fabric that I’ve used to make a skirt for myself, but I wasn’t sure how I was going to use it in a kid’s dress. It has so many interesting lines. So, what do I pair it with? All my blues are wrong. I don’t have enough plain white or black. I keep putting it aside until I figure it out. And then I flipped open this panel of beetle fabric… It was perfect timing. It just felt like this dress was asking me to make it. So, I call this one The Donna.

Here are the fabrics:

fabric9-2

And the resulting dress. It currently doesn’t have a home, but who knows, maybe it’ll end up in the closet of a little girl who loves Doctor Who. Maybe someone else will snatch it up first.

dress9

Stay Weird

