Top Ten Tuesday – 2015 So Far

June’s been a slow month for me Top Ten Tuesday-wise. The topics just haven’t resonated with me. But this week’s is doable – best books read this year. Not published this year, but that I’ve read this year. I love topics like this. It lets me share my new loves with people. Maybe someone else will find something on my list that they love as much as I do. So, let’s not take too long to get to the good stuff. Here, in chronological order, are the best books I’ve read in 2015. You only get eight. My reading has been slow this year. I only have 29 to choose from and not all of them deserve a best of ranking.

NPH

Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

One of the most entertaining autobiographies I’ve ever read. It feels honest and genuine. And after getting to see him on a panel at a recent convention, this feels even truer. (my review)

ttt1

Fiendish

by Brenna Yovanoff

Magical realism for YA. Totally worth reading if you want a touch of that without going heavy fantasy. Like a warm, creepy hug. (my review)

lockhart

We Were Liars by e. lockhart

To quote myself (is that terrible hubris? whatever here’s my review), “It’s fresh and new and yet unbearably familiar.”

jackson

We Have Always lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

Published in 1962, this one holds up well. If you occasionally think about The Lottery from your high school reading list, go grab Jackson’s other books (including this one) and give it a read.

TINAT

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

I actually could have made this list ten entries long, but then it would have just been Courtney and her runner ups. Seriously, the list would have been half Summers. I made myself choose one. TINAT wins because there’s something about this book that ensures it’s my go to recommendation. I think about Sloane’s fierce sadness frequently. (my review)

brezenoff

Guy in Real Life by Steve Brezenoff

Divisive! Talking about this in our book club was exciting. Opinions were so varied. I found this book damn delightful. (my review)

hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

It mostly lived up to the hype. That’s impressive. (my review)

poehler

Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

If I hadn’t loved Poehler before reading this, I would now. She embodies empowerment for everyone. For never letting anyone tell you otherwise. For smart girls, including boys. The audiobook is fabulous. It’s one worth doing in both formats. Read it. Please!

What are your highlights for the year? Any overlaps? Recommendations based on my list?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 2015 So Far

  1. I really want to read Yes, Please. I’ve always known that Amy Poehler is amazing, but I just started watching Parks and Rec which is making me want to read her book. This is a great list! Here is my TTT

Stay Weird

