Top Ten Tuesday – Skipping the Hype Train

Book hype… it’s the death of many books in my life. Typically, it sets expectations too high for mediocre books that could have been enjoyable without all the talk. I have a couple bloggers I follow who help me make my reading decisions when I’m on the fence. Their reviews typically let me know if I should bother following the hype. Often, it’s because I generally disagree with them. If they say that something is amazing and deep, I often find it shallow and overwritten. And things they find offputting and slow, I find ethereal and engaging. They’re a better barometer than reading good reviews.

Hype is contagious. Experience is individual.

Instead of doing this as a list of hyped books I just haven’t gotten around to, I’m doing ones I’m not planning to get around to.

martin

A Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin

I keep meaning do and then never doing it. The names are all so similar. It feels daunting.

Taylow

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

I typically avoid anything dystopian with a title constructed in the fashion. There are too many of them and they are typically repetitive drivel. Sorry book.

Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I keep seeing this book everywhere. I don’t get why it’s so hyped. Someone, please explain.

brown

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

I tried. The writing is terrible.

aveyard

Red Queen By Victoria Aveyard

I was on the train. Then I got off. That damn attractive cover.

gabaldon

Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

I read the first book. I hated it so much that I actually threw it into a wall instead of finishing it.

han

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Honestly, I hate the title so much I can’t even get to the book blurb.

jonasson

The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

Again with the long titles. I’m bored before I even finish reading this one. But something in my gut tells me this one might be worth it. Also, the author’s name is rad. Maybe I’ll get back on the train for this one.

niffenegger

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

No reason other than that the movie looked pretty chic litty. I’ve read most of Her Fearful Symmetry and enjoyed it and people who liked that one seem to hate this one.

Wallace

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

It’s just so long.

fielding

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

It’s the epitome of chic lit. No thanks.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Skipping the Hype Train

  1. The 100 Year Old Man… it’s worth a read. It’s a pretty original little story. It’s also not that long. You should get back on the train.

  2. I quite liked Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I thought the whole demon/angel/changeling thing was done well and at the time I was obsessed with Demons by Imagine Dragons and the song and book played off each other to keep me strongly engaged. However, the sequel was not as good and even though I got the third book as a gift over a year ago, I have it managed to pick it up yet. Anna and the French Kiss is plain cute. It was a great, fluffy, summer afternoon, popcorn read. I liked Jenny Han’s other books so I would give this one a try just because of that. I’m with you on all the others, though I may give in on George RR Martin…

Stay Weird

