Wearable Wednesday – Sew to Distraction

You may have noticed that there haven’t been a lot of book reviews on the blog lately. Some of this is because I’ve read a number of books lately that haven’t been worth reviewing. Some reviews are in progress (there should be a couple in the next few days). But the biggest reason is because I haven’t been reading at all. One of my pets got very sick recently and the taking care of/worry, combined with the eventual decision to put him down and end his kitty suffering meant I wasn’t in the mood to read. I couldn’t concentrate. I mean he was just so cute. Look at his adorable face.

dd diesel

And he liked books, too. Well, he liked to sleep on them.

ddsleep

In my grieving period, I needed a distraction. My lovely friends spent time with me and we went to the fabric store and the library. But there comes a time when you have to be alone. And I know that pets are pets. They are not people. But they are part of the fabric of your life, especially if you’ve had them for a while. I look for him in the places where I used to trip over him all the time. And then it’s a fresh reminder. So, I tried to read, but that didn’t work. It was too quiet. I tried watching tv, but I got too easily distracted. So I decided to sew.

Turns out sewing is a totally amazing distraction technique. You focus on the pattern placement and cutting and then the actual sewing. The rhythmic whirring of the machine. The progress. The finished products. So I sewed my heart out over the weekend. And I came up with some stuff.

It was also San Diego ComiCon weekend. And this year, Star Wars was the name of the game. Now, I am not a huge Star Wars fan. I think Ewoks are adorable, but otherwise it’s a lot of guys in cloaks. My friends are on a mission to get me to rewatch them and accept the awesome. We’re getting there. But somehow, I’ve accumulated a huge stash of Star Wars fabric. I think this is probably because it’s so prevalent. There’s always stuff at the fabric store. And it’s usually pretty attractive. And it makes some pretty adorable dresses.

Here are a few of the Star Wars dresses I’ve made recently. If you’re interested in seeing more stuff I’ve made, go here.

star wars babydoll

star wars sketch star wars baseball

Stay Weird

