Top Ten Tuesday – We Will Never Be Friends

It’s time for our regular Tuesday list. The ladies over at the B&B have tasked us with listing characters that don’t get us. You know – those characters you would never be friends with because you just don’t click. The chemistry that draws you to someone. That deep down tingle feeling. Those things are missing with these characters. I don’t get them and they would never get me. Now, for me, this doesn’t equate books that I don’t like. I’m cool with an unlikable protagonist.

I considered putting that wishy washy girl from the 50 shades books on this list, but decided not to. If you think that there’s any chance that I connected with that character, you have not been paying attention.

So let’s get to it.

grossmand

Quentin – The Magicians by Lev Grossman (my review)

I liked these books, particularly the last one. They were a little ploddy and referential, but in a way that didn’t bother me. But Quentin – he was aggravating. What a whinger. Get your head out of your ass and get over yourself, all right?

lacour

Emi – Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour

Perfectly perfect perfect. I’m maybe going to write a review on this book. I’m trying to decide if there something outside mediocre that would make it worth it. Emi is one of those annoyingly perfect characters who has never experienced anything but perfection. And she has basically zero character development to salvage her.

Roth

Tris – Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I did not mind Tris in the first two novels. She was a little typical dystopian, but fun enough that I liked her. And then Allegiant happened and everything just fell apart. I don’t know what happened, but Roth lost the focus somewhere and let Tris fall from potentially awesome heroine to meh.

asylum

Dan Crawford – Asylum by Madeleine Roux (my review)

This character makes the worst decisions in this book. Like the worst. Not in a good horror movie way either. Just in a ridiculous, I never think about anything, kind of way.

mccreight

Kate – Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight (my review)

I could not connect with Kate at all. Therefore, I could not feel empathy for her. I mostly found her self-involved. She wanted to figure out what happened to her daughter to make herself feel better. Maybe? Honestly, I just couldn’t find her real motivation.

westerfeld

Tally – The Uglies Trilogy by Scott Westerfeld

Superficial twat. For all three books! At the end of each one, it seems like maybe she’s learning and then the next one starts and she’s back to who she was at the beginning of the series. Pointless.

lacey

Elyria – Nobody is Ever Missing by Catherine Lacey (my review)

I actually really liked this book. In that way that you can like a book that makes you so depressed you can only read it in small chunks. But I’m happy to say that I could not really connect with Elyria. I’ve never wanted to escape my own life the way she does. And that’s a good thing.

flynn

Camille Preaker – Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn (my review)

Good book. I really liked this book. It was strange, but enjoyable. But I did not understand Preaker’s disorder. It gave me the heebies. Literal shivers. Yucky. The girl needs heaps and heaps of therapy.

suzuma

Lochan and Maya – Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Yuck. Yucky yuck yuck. Yuck.

bolton bolton

Evi – Blood Harvest  (review)/ Dead Scared by S.J. Bolton

Weak, weak woman. And it has nothing to do with her disability. She’s flat and insecure. And I don’t want to spend any more time talking about her.

Anyone you don’t like? I think most of the characters I like are probably going to land on lists this week, but reading – it’s subjective and shit.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – We Will Never Be Friends

  1. Kate from Reconstructing Amelia made my list too! Glad I wasn’t the only one who found her difficult to connect with. Camille Preaker, I definitely agree with you there, too. Very creepy book, and a very creepy character (though I guess she was the most normal in her family).

  2. I agree about Quentin! The books were just interesting enough to keep me reading, but I didn’t feel much other than the desire to smack him until the last book. The last book, he did–finally–develop some.

  3. I totally agree with your assessment of Tally. I had Four from Allegiant on my list but I agree Tris fell apart in that book too. That book just was not great.

Stay Weird

