Top Ten Tuesday – Disney Villains

disney

Halloween is here again! I adore this time of year. Not all the pumpkin stuff – gross – but the decorations and the general spirit. A few weeks every year where people get to test out a new identity, or to be their real self without question. You can embrace your inner mermaid or roller girl or Doctor Who or whatever you want. As long as it’s genuine, it’s awesome.

This year, I’m going to focus on some of my favourite villains. I like villains all year. I revel in them. Their stories are typically more interesting than the nicey nice good guys. But sometimes, they’re just plain being mean and that’s delightful on its own. I’ve always had a thing for Disney villains. The way they’re drawn. They’re motivations. They’re the best part of any Disney movie.

These are, in no particular order – except for the first, my ten favourite Disney villains.

Maleficent – Sleeping Beauty

Lady has a right to be pissed. At the time, for a person of her status to not be invited to the christening when the other fairies were… basically a slap in the face. An act of disrespect. (There’s an interesting article about this one tumblr, but I can’t seem to find it right now). Also, she can turn into a fucking dragon. And her spirit animal is a raven. We’re essentially the same person.

Maleficent_from_Sleeping_Beauty

Look at how much fun she’s having. Try not to love her.

King Candy / Turbo – Wreck It Ralph

The inclusion of Pixar movies in the list of Disney classics is the cause of much debate. But I say, if they show me the castle at the beginning, they get included. And that means I get to include my very favourite Disney movie – and its charming/delusional/selfish villain. He loves to win.

Turbo_king_candy

Chernabog – Fantasia

Walt Disney called him the devil. He’s scary as fuck and the only really memorable part of Fantasia. The thing of childhood nightmares. I love him.

Chernabog-walt-disney-characters-19629069-1280-768

Lotso – Toy Story 3

The friendliest villains are the best ones. He’s so huggable. I know; I own a stuffed one. His belly does smell like strawberries. You’d never suspect him. There’s also this awesome comparison of Toy Story and The Walking Dead where Lotso is the Governor – the only character on that show I actually enjoyed.

lotso

Prince John – Robin Hood

There is nothing scary about Prince John. He’s the whiniest type of villain. He sucks his thumb. He takes things from his brother. But he makes me laugh. Hiss is his semi-dastardly sidekick.

prince john and hiss

Madam Mim – The Sword in the Stone

She battles Merlin in the most delightful of magical battles. And she’s quite mad. I may also be bias because this is my favourite Disney animated movie.

mim

The Cheshire Cat – Alice in Wonderland

Is the cat a villain? Or a trickster? Pot-ay-to / Pot-ah-to? He certainly causes Alice grief for his own entertainment. And he’s got that creepy grin and can vanish at will – super useful villain traits.

Cheshire-cat-8

Claude Frollo – The Hunchback of Notre Dame

I do not like this movie. Let me be clear. I’ve seen it once. It felt trite. I’ve never tried watching it again. But Frollo is fucking awful. He’s a wanna be surprise sexer and active advocate against social acceptance.

frollo

Ursula – The Little Mermaid

Ursula is a bad ass. She gets a girl to trade her best asset for romance and then uses those same silly girlish whims her. And she basically turns herself into a Kracken. Man, the problem with liking a Disney villain is that you know they’re going to die, even when they are too rad to die.

Ursula

Scar – The Lion King

Scar gets to come last, because he is really damn evil. We all know that he’s Claudius from Hamlet, and let’s not forget the Hitler comparisons. This is one evil character. Like Frollo, he’s legitimately evil. But he also gives us the scene where the parrot sings the coconut song. And who doesn’t sing that from time to time?

scar

Who are your favourites?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Disney Villains

    • Cruella was never one of my favourites. I always found her kind of shrill. Although, I did used to set the Cruella song as my mom’s ringtone (even though I like my mom:) )

Stay Weird

