Top Ten Tuesday – Text to Talk

Movie adaptations are big business. Great books are turned into movies ranging from excellent to truly awful. Terrible books sometimes make excellent movies. I reviewed a couple lists when I was putting this together to ensure I didn’t forget something I should have included. What actually happened is that my TBR pile grew significantly. There are a lot of movies that I didn’t know were based on books. Damn you, B&B.

There are a couple movies coming out that I’m looking forward to, but I’ve decided to focus on book to movie adaptations that I like. These are not all stellar adaptations. These are simply movies that, for whatever reason, I like.

catching_fire_book_cover_new HG2

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

I’ve loved all three movies so far, but this was my favourite of the books. I love the way they turned it into the movie. Phillip Seymore Hoffman, Stanley Tucci, and Donald Sutherland are casting perfection.

poa-uk-adult-jacket-art hp3

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Again, I love the movies (Half Blood Prince is the best book and arguably the worst adaptation), but this is the one where the tone really changed. Things got darker. It happened in the book and they captured it so well in the movie. They stopped being ‘kids’ movies with this one.

dragon MV5BMTc2Mjc0MDg3MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjUzMDkxMw@@__V1_SX214_AL_ girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-poster-01

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

I cannot choose between the original Swedish movie and the American adaptation. I was so sure they were going to screw this up with the English version. Surprisingly, it was equally as good as the Swedish versions. If you haven’t seen them, do it. I am super unimpressed with the idea of the second American movie being made without Craig, Mara, or Fincher.

Dollanganger01_FlowersInTheAttic flowers-in-the-attic-dvd-cover-70

Flowers in the Attic

This was one of my favourite books as a kid. It was scandalous. The original movie was pretty terrible, but I enjoyed it for its camp factor. Then Lifetime released a new adaptation series and it’s fabulous. If Ellen Burnstyn was my grandmother – ack, the terror.

MV5BMTk0MDQ3MzAzOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzU1NzE3MjE@__V1_SX640_SY720_ Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)

Gone Girl

I was incredibly leery when I saw the casting for this movie. Ben Affleck is really hit or miss. And Neil Patrick Harris? Love him, but how will his schtick fit? Hmmm, how is this all going to come together. Well, it came together like delicious cake. Affleck was the perfect guy to capture that good looking but kind of useless guy. Pike was adorably offputting as Amy. And Harris’ small role in the movie was exactly right.

Time_to_kill_poster time-to-kill

A Time to Kill

John Grisham used to write pretty entertaining books that were made into mostly awful, but extremely successful, movies. Then he started writing books in order for them to be made into movies and it all went to hell in a handbasket. But way back when, he wrote A Time to Kill. I power-read this thing while trapped in a hospital bed. And then the movie came out and reallyexecuted the racism and the heat – everyone was so glisseny. You could feel their heat.

differentseasonsking 600full-stand-by-me-poster

Stand By Me/The Body

I am not a fan of Stephen King. I do not read his books. All the ones I’ve read have been pretty meh. But he does do the short story adequately. And his adaptations are always pretty entertaining. One of the best is Stand By Me. Always. It’s one of those stories that has stuck with me far longer than I expected. I haven’t seen this thing in probably at least a decade and a half and I still see it in my head.

Wallace_Books_Lewis_001_large 028_001

The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe

I am 100% talking about the BBC version. Objectively, it’s terrible. But I have so many positive family memories tied to this book and movie that I cannot not love this forever.

121 romeo-the-perfect-romeo-and-juliet-3-30505957-1012-1438-1mjxbb2

Romeo and Juliet

I do not like Romeo and Juliet as a story. Or at least not as a love story. However, I do appreciate the Baz Luhrman version. Say what you will, but it’s got something that makes it pop. And the music. It captures that darker side of the story that gets glossed over too frequently. Harold Perrineau as Mercutio – yes. Forever, yes.

anne_of_green_gables MV5BNDI4MjA2MzUxOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjE0MjE2MQ@@__V1__CR53,69,306,401_SX640_SY720_

Anne of Green Gables

Oh Anne. I love you so much. There’s no need to explain. If you don’t get it, move along.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Text to Talk

  1. Great post! Stand By Me made my list too. What a great film. I would disagree with Azkaban, that was my least favorite film translation. They left out The Marauders which was what really made the book special for me.

    • I love the vibe of Azkaban. My fave of the movies is actually Deathly Hallows part 1. But Azkaban gets me in other ways. The marauders were never high on my radar though. To each our own

      • I did like the direction the filming went in Azkaban. I just feel like you need to know more about the Marauders to understand the importance of Harry’s patronus taking on the form of the stag. I cry every time I read that part in the book. 🙂 Still was a good movie, just not my favorite of them all. Both Deathly Hallows films were terrific!

Stay Weird

