TBT – The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Family tradition is one of those things that everyone has, even if you don’t mean to. Drink yourselves silly? Tradition. Always play boardgames? Tradition. Always, always, always fight over the amount of pepper to put in the gravy? Tradition. Open a gift Christmas Eve? Tradition. Don’t spend your holiday season with your family – bam, that’s your tradition. Doesn’t matter how it started, it’s something you expect to happen. For me, two of my family traditions that fill me with that warm, cozy feeling are weirdly related to the BBC.

tardis

The first is the Doctor Who Christmas episode. This used to be a just me tradition. For an hour every Christmas, I head off to the kitchen, settle down on the floor, and watch the new episode (last year I was allowed to watch it on the big TV – shocking). I recognize that this may sound sad to some people, but for me it is a blissful moment of silence in an otherwise high energy couple days. Over the last few years, my niece and nephews have started to get more interested in the show. Especially my niece. The first time she toddled into the room to sit down and watch with me, she was a year and a half. She now watches it with me yearly.

snowqueen

But there is another tradition that I loved and sticks out as a real family thing. Something we always did together – watching the BBC version of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (man, the BBC has really nosed its way into my life). Sadly, this tradition has faded away over time, because we’re all traveling  and trying to fit in as much as possible in a couple already jam-packed days.

We watched this as a family every single Christmas for most of my teenage years and into my 20s.This movie is so British. The filming is terrible. The acting is overly dramatic. The special effects are ridiculous – those beavers. It is perfect. I hope we can bring this back at some point for the younger generation can experience it.

beaver

It is also where I learned that Turkish Delight wasn’t those disgusting things that came in Big Turk wrappers. The real stuff is equally disgusting, but still, I learned something.

turkish

There’s no real way to describe the fabulousness of this movie, so I’m just going to give you the first half hour and let you take it all in (you’re going to want to watch the rest). I can know what movie this is from the very first trumpet in the opening credits. I think I might have to make sure to watch the entire thing this year, even if we can’t do it as an entire family.

 

 

2 thoughts on “TBT – The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Stay Weird

