Friday Music Round Up

It’s almost Christmas. That means the weeks are taking forever. There are crowds everywhere. And there is insipid music pumping from every speaker in every store. I will not be listening to Christmas music, will not! Unless forced. Or if it’s this awesome Dropkick Murphy’s Christmas submission.

This list came together in a weirdly fluid way. It started with the STP song, which led me to think about The Cure, and on and on until the list below happened. It’s probably going to seem super disjointed but trust me, it totally makes sense in my brain. Enjoy!

Sour Girl – Stone Temple Pilots

Absolutely my favourite STP song

 Friday I’m in Love – The Cure

There are just so many excellent song by these guys. I just had to pick one.

Nevermind – Leonard Cohen

Every time I hear this song, I’m reminded that I haven’t seen season two of True Detective and I scold myself.

Portions for Foxes – Rilo Kiley

A friend of mine loves Rilo Kiley. She’s not wrong.

 I Don’t Want To Know (If You Don’t Want Me) – The Donnas

Never having had the chance to see The Donnas is one of the great sadnesses in my musical life.

Coming Down – Dum Dum Girls

Sometimes, you just want to listen to something that’s a little sad.

The Museum of Broken Relationships – Veruca Salt

While I’m not big on this whole trend of revisiting the things from our youth movement (I’m talking to you Jem movie). I’ll take new Veruca Salt music where I can.

You Don’t Just Want to Break Me (You Want to Tear Me Apart)- Hawksley Workman

Hawksley – always. I love the complete tonal change of this song from beginning to end.

The Freshman – The Verve Pipe

In the mid-90s battle for supremacy between bands with Verve in their name, these guys lost.

The Way We Get By – Spoon

 I love a song with good piano

Song for the Dumped – Ben Folds Five

Like I said, a good piano

 Sex and Candy – Marcy Playground

The quintessential university song of the 90s. Like disco superfly.

This list could really go on forever, but I have to stop somewhere. This seems as good a place as any.

 

One thought on “Friday Music Round Up

  1. There is a lot of awesome on this list! Definitely a bit of 90s/early 2000s nostalgia from some of it. Also, I still owe you a Rilo Kiley mix CD. You must hear more than just Portions for Foxes!

Stay Weird

