Top Ten Tuesday – A Little Help from your Friends

Today’s top ten list is a Valentine’s Day freebie. I’m sure this will mean many lists about romantic books and love and whatnot. But my favourite part of Valentine’s Day (besides the abundant amounts of chocolate) is Galentine’s day. Wait, you don’t know what that is? Let’s fix that.

All too often we get so caught up in trying to be the things we’re supposed to be – wife, mother, career woman, crazy single cat lady, whatever. To be the best at all the roles we’ve been assigned. In the need to be all things to all people at all times, we lose track of our relationships with other women. Relationships that aren’t about competition. The friends that support and sustain us. That give us an outlet to stop being those other things for a while and just be friends. Because for so much of our time, we’re expected to be all these other things.

My book picks this week focus on women caught in struggle. Women trying to find their footing when they don’t seem to fit anywhere. Women who could have used a good friend.

setterfield.jpg

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

I desperately need to reread this so I can write a proper review. I read it long before I started this blog. It is fabulous and sad.

flynn

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

When I read this book, I always wonder – if Camille had had someone she could talk to early on in her life, would she have grown into a different person. Would a support system have saved her from the person she grew into or was she always meant to be this?

rader-day

Little Pretty Things by Lori Rader-Day

Can we just get rid of frenemies and start teaching girls to actually care about and support each other instead of using one another? Pretty please.

Wallace

Meet You There by Jessica Wallace

Robin is the prime example of how bad relationships can be as bad/worse than no relationships.

haynes

The Furies by Natalie Haynes

Running away rarely gets you anywhere good

verity

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Pretending to be something you’re not is the name of the game in this book. Friendship saves them.

the body

Written on the Body by Jeanette Winterson

Even though this book doesn’t assign a gender to the narrator, I’ve always read is a woman. It’s always been beautiful and sad.

atwood

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Dystopian/Sci-fi often gives us the truth much more clearly than contemporary fiction.

woke

When She Woke by Hilary Jordan

In my head, this book connects directly with Atwood’s. An extension of that kind of society. When we colour people as just one thing, we force them into solitude and distrust.

summers

All the Rage by Courtney Summers 

Rigid self-preservation removes us from the people that can help us become whole.

 

I hope you have the people you can turn to and rely on for support, regardless of your current social role.

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – A Little Help from your Friends

  1. Love this list! I read The Handmaid’s Tale last year and The Thirteenth Tale has been sitting on my shelf forever but it’s on my schedule for next month. Happy Galentine’s Day!

    • Handmaid’s Tale is one of my take away books from school. I read it cause I had to. Kept it cause I loved it. Give When She Woke a try. I read it several years ago, but something about it struck me as similar to Atwood’s book. The terrible way we treat people.

      • Thanks I will. I know most people I’ve talked to don’t love Handmaid, but I did, I’ve read most of her books and really love her writing.

Stay Weird

