Top Ten Tuesday -A Song for the Pages

I didn’t think I was going to get this post done. I hadn’t even looked at the topic until this morning, and this is one that requires some thought. But man, it’s right up my book/music  alley. And I was one of the people that sent the B&B the suggestion to do this topic. So, I had to get it done. So I thought about it while I went about the rest of my packed day. And tada, we have a list.

There are a couple duplicate authors here. Some of that is because I didn’t give myself a lot of time. But it’s also because these books spoke to me in a way that easily connects with music. For some I have specific scenes related to the songs. For others, it’s just a general feeling.

The Replacement – Brenna Yovanoff

yovanoff
It’s all fire and brimstone. baby.

The Mission – Puscifer  

This song gets to the overall feeling of the book, but would really highlight some of the scenes. I’m thinking the cemetery scene or going through the underground for the first time.

 

Broken Harbour by Tana French

french

 

I know you never meant to, but you did.

Sway – The Kooks

This is all about how people destroy the people that love them/let the people they love destroy them in a misplaced understanding of what they want. That sums up the book pretty accurately. 

 

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

blake.jpg

You never wait so long

Here Comes Your Man – Pixies

This is Cas and Anna’s song. It’s adorable. And the retro feel really bridges the gap between their differing times. 

 

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

TINAT

I’m afraid of the world. I’m afraid I can’t help it.

I’m Afraid of Americans by David Bowie

I can’t remember if this book takes place in America or Canada, but if it was made into a movie, I think they would set it in the states. This is the perfect escaping the zombies song. When they’re trying to get out of the house after they escape the school. This song makes me feel helpless.

 

The Unquiet Past by Kelley Armstrong

armstrong

 

She took my heart . I think she took my soul.

Closer by Kings of Leon

The creepy vibe of this song hits the asylum/supernatural vibe of this book. I also think it would be a great overlay for Tess’ exploration of the basement. She’s being suffocated by these visions of a woman. The closer she gets the worse she suffers. 

 

Meet You There – Jessica Wallace

Wallace

You understand I got a plan for us. I bet you didn’t know that I was dangerous.

Dangerous – Big Data

This song is off kilter for the spiritual/introspective vibe of the book and I think that’s why it would work. Specifically, I’m thinking about the scenes in the gay bar. These are toxic relationships. (The video is hella weird – you’ve been warned)

All the Rage by Courtney Summers

summers

Well it must be hard to be a pretty girl… If you think it’s your turn to explain yourself, it’s not.

Paper Girl – July Talk

Domination. Secrets. Closing yourself off. It’s got a fun vibe to it, but there’s a depth to this song that I think gets to the heart of Romy.

Sharp Object by Gillian Flynn

flynn

 

have mercy. Pray for me pray.

Sleep With the Lights On by The Wanton Bishops

During Camille’s drive home. Or when her sister and the groupies are terrorizing the town. This song just feels like it belongs in a town full of messed up southerners. 

Little Pretty Things by Lori Rader-Day

rader-day

Think of all the falling down and the hiding under. Think of all the time, time, time, time, time.

Wasting Time – Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats

The people in this book have lost so much to wasting their time hiding. I imagine this playing when Juliet finally realizes what was happening in that hotel room back in high school.

Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

fiendish

Could you forgive yourself if you left her just the way you found her

Protection – Massive Attack

It fits with the ethereal vibe of the book without being on the nose with the southern gothic feel. Protection goes both ways in this book . He protects her from him. She protects him from himself. 

This took way longer than I expected. The last set of wordpress updates have made putting together a post with videos a giant pain in the tuckas.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday -A Song for the Pages

Stay Weird

