Music Roundup

I know I usually do these music things on Fridays, but my schedule has been fairly intense lately, and time has not been found to do any lists. So today, I’m taking this foreshortened Sunday to make a list.

Earlier this week, a friend introduced me to a cover of a song by his favourite band. I really love this cover. It’s stuck with me through the week. And it got me thinking about covers and how, when done well, they become more of an interpretation than a cover and can shift the song’s perspective. So this week’s list is all about covers.

Don’t Sell Me Short – Emily Davis (Bad Religion) – the aforementioned song

Here Comes Your Man – Meaghan Smith (Pixies)

Never Gonna Give You Up – The Black Keys (Jerry Butler)

No Diggity – Anna Kendrick (Blackstreet)

Dream Lover – The Misfits (Bobby Darin)

House of the Rising Sun – The White Buffalo adapted for SOA (The Animals)

All Along the Watchtower – Brea McCreary (Jimi Hendrix)

Beat It – Fall Out Boy ft. John Mayer (Michael Jackson)

Problem – Hozier (Ariana Grande – The original hurt my ears)

Jolene – The White Stripes (Dolly Parton)

American Girl – Elle King (Tom Petty)

 

Stay Weird

