Top Ten Tuesday – Grow Up Already

Remember reading books when you were a kid about characters that were a few years older than you who you just wanted to emulate them when you got to that age? Or to have the same exciting shenanigans? Then when you reached that actual age, you’d continued to age your characters to something you could strive for (until adult books became your thing). A lot of these characters are frozen in time at a given age. But what would they be like now? In their 20s or 30s or 40s? That’s today’s topic.

Who would you want to know as an adult?

pascal.jpg

The Sweet Valley Universe by Francine Pascal (and her army of ghost writers)

This one is a cheat. We got a ten years later book. It sucked. Hugely sucked. And not a life affirming kind of sucking. There is no good here. None. (my review) As fans who dedicated years (sometimes up to a decade) of our lives to this series (which, let’s be honest, isn’t all that great to begin with) we deserve better than the stinking crap pile we were given.

martin.jpg

The Baby-Sitters Club by Ann M. Martin (and yup, ghost writers)

These were probably the girls I emulated the most as a tween. I even started a club with a friend of mine. It didn’t last long, but we gave it a shot. What happened to these girls? Is Kristy running a fortune 500? Did Dawn become a fascist vegan? Is Claudia a Portland hipster selling fork (yes fork, not folk) art at the market?

keene.jpg

The Nancy Drew Files by Carolyn Keene (again with the ghost writers)

This is the Nancy I’m curious about. I love the original version, but The Files planted the seed that sparked my future love of Veronica Mars and procedural crime drama. I want a grown up series of Nancy Drew.

Pike.jpg

Final Friends by Christopher Pike

Honestly, I probably would have hated these kids in school, but I haven’t read this book in a long time, so I don’t remember the details. I just picked up a copy of the omnibus, so re-reading is in the future. Seeing how these characters grew into adults after their trauma would be fabulous.

wyndham.jpg

The Chrysalids by John Wyndham

Probably the first dystopian novel I read. At the time, I hated it – because I hadn’t had a lot of previous exposure to sci-fi in writing and didn’t know how to digest it. But this book stuck with me through high school and further. What happened to them after they were saved? Who lived? Who died? Did everyone die? Maybe there’s not possible future for these characters.

Martel.jpg

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

I read this book as an adult. But I’d love to know how Pi carried on with his life after the death of his family. Does he still believe the world of the animals? What does he become as an adult?

Gone min

The Gone Series by Michael Grant

Again, I read this one as an adult, but I’d love to read about how these kids adapted to the real world again. How do you go back to being a kid after that experience and how does that influence your development into adulthood?

l'engle.jpg

 

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

These kids got to have the coolest adventures. Adult versions please. Okay, I’ll admit that I haven’t read the other books in the series, so maybe adult versions already exist. Someone tell me the truth!

S.E. Hinton.jpg

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

I can’t really remember who lived and who died at the end of this book, but I’d like to know if the ones that did stuck to their greaser roots.

 

brown.jpg

Encyclopedia Brown by Donald J. Sobol

Did you become a detective Encyclopedia? Did you? Or a weird, conspiracy theory shut in? Either option is equally possible.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Grow Up Already

  1. I’d love to know how Harriet the Spy turned out as an adult. Is she still obsessively watching everyone around her and keeping notes? Did she translate her skills into something related like police work or private investigation?

  2. You’ve got a bunch of old school favorites on the list! I didn’t realize there had been a follow up Sweet Valley High. If written well it would be interesting to see that crew grown up but I am not surprised it went horribly wrong. A grown up Pi would be an interesting idea. He’s had a pretty insanely traumatic experience – I wonder how he would cope once he is returned to “normal” life.

Stay Weird

