Top Ten Tuesday – On a Whim and a Prayer

Today’s topic is pretty wide open – books picked up on a whim. So to me that means books that immediately caught my interest and I actually read. Lots of books catch my attention, only some of those make it to the reading pile – with varying levels of satisfaction.

Teege.jpg

 

 

 

My Grandfather Would Have Shot Me by Jennifer Teege

A fairly interesting read. Taught me more about history than I expected  and convinced me that I should maybe get around to watching Schindler’s List one of these days.

 

 

mackler.jpg

Infinite in Between by Carolyn Mackler

Middle of the road book. Had a lot of potential, but didn’t get its message across as well as it could have. My Review

Mohr.jpg

All This Life by Joshua Mohr

I started this book and thought it was going to be amazing. The structure of the thoughts and language in the first few pages was beautiful. And the story was really compelling – this idea of overlapping lives across the internet and quantum mathmatics. The first 3/4 of the book was good. The last 1/4 was just meh.

 

 

 

Neill.jpg

.

Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill

I picked this one up years ago because I liked the title of the second book. The first four or five books of this series were delightful and fluffy. After that, the story lost me, but I was able to recommend it to a few friends who love it and that is always a win.

genova.jpg

Left Neglected by Lisa Genova

This is exactly why I don’t read chic lit.

Setterfield.jpg

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

One of the best book whims I’ve ever encountered. I loved the cover so much I knew I had to read it. It’s now one of my favourite books.

Ryan.jpg

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

I don’t like zombie books. I have no idea why I decided to pick this book up. I didn’t know anyone who had read it. It ended up being a good choice.

blake.jpg

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

100% selected this book because of the title. Then the cover was also rad. And the book turned out to be pretty damn entertaining.

Suma.jpg

Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

Another book picked for the cover. Hauntingly beautiful. It has stuck with me for a long time. My review

kuehnert

Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert

Such a good book. Just so good.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – On a Whim and a Prayer

  1. I loved both “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” and “Anna Dressed in Blood” as well! “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” isn’t your average zombie book it’s pretty different, glad you liked it and great list! 🙂

Stay Weird

