Top Ten Tuesday – Sand Between the Pages

This week’s topic is right on time. I’m heading off to a sunny, beachyish vacation in about two weeks. I’ve been trying to decide what to bring with me to read. I have a bunch of physical books I’ve purchased and want to read, but those books have made many of my previous lists.

I’ve been terrible at reading this year. I’m relying a lot on my audiobooks. Travelling means diving into my ereader- cause it’s lighter to carry. So this list is comprised of audiobooks from hoopla (if your library allows you access to this service, it’s amazing. check it out) and digital words hiding out on my Kobo waiting for some loving.

I know a lot people select the light and fluffy for their beach reading. And that makes sense. But those are just not my kind of book. So while these are fun and sun books, they’re lighter than some of my usual selections.

paige.jpg

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Page

I avoided Dorothy Must Die for a long time. I was so over this fairy tale retelling schtick. Then I needed a book and that one was there for the listening. And surprisingly, really enjoyable. The follow up will probably make great plane listening.

umminger.jpg

My Favourite Manson Girl by Alison Umminger

Hollywood in the summer. Movie research. This might be the most ‘summery’ of all the books on the list.

armstrong.jpg

The Cainsville Series by Kelley Armstrong

Cheezey and delightful summer reading. I’ve got three of these babies loaded and ready to read. Or re-read. I’ve read the first one, but it’s been so long I need to read it again.

Yancey.jpg

The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The last book is finally out! Another series that surprised me. As soon as the audiobook is available, this one will be making the rotation. I listened to the first two on audiobook. I’m weird and like to get through a series in the same format.

laybourne.jpg

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

I know nothing about this book, but it seems fun. And I already bought.

bray

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

This one has made my list before, but I’m actually going to get around to reading it. I swear. I’m going to try.

 

johnston.jpg

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

I found this book on a list of YA interpretations of Shakespeare. I was instantly drawn to the title. I can’t remember exactly which play this was compared to.  A Winter’s Tale maybe. Anyway, it all came together in a very compelling, must read kinda way.

shelton.jpg

Thirteen Chairs by Dave Shelton

Who doesn’t want a little horror reading in their summer? Best saved for cold, overcast beach days with a hoodie and a hot beverage.

setterfield.jpg

Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield

If it’s anything like The Thirteenth Tale, this book is going to be fantastic.

What do you want to read this summer?

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Sand Between the Pages

  1. You will have to let me know how Exit, Pursued By A Bear is. I’ve picked it up a few times in Chapters and then put it down again.

    And OMG!!! New Diane Setterfield! I will need to read this ASAP!

    • I picked Exit up from the library yesterday. It’s packed in my suitcase, ready for vacation. I’ll let you know!
      The Setterfield was published in 2013 or something. I don’t know how I missed it.

Stay Weird

