Top Ten Tuesday -Movie Love

It seems that every time I’ve been able to sit down and compose a post recently, they’re about movies or music. I suppose this is good – I’ve been shit at getting any reading done lately. Today is a movie freebie.

Depending on your age, a lot of these are probably totally foreign. A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, Disney did live action movies that weren’t blockbusters. They were these weird little films that showed on tv and they were both delightful and terrible. Some of these I legitimately love. Some I just watched so many times they are ingrained on my brain. Some of these did come out more recently, but I love them, and it’s my list.

Do you remember any of these?

 

The Parent Trap (1961 / 1998)– technically, I only have nine movies listed here. That’s because The Parent Trap gets two entries. Hayley Mills and Lindsay Lohan both do excellent versions.

Mary Poppins  (1964)– Everyone has seen Mary Poppins right? No need to put a trailer here? Good. I’m going with my favourite song from the movie

Escape to Witch Mountain (1975)– Escape to. Not Race to. The original. Not that remake.

 

Bedknobs & Broomsticks (1971)– This movie is part of why I love McGonagal controlling the armour in Harry Potter so much. My love of magical orphans is long.

The Mighty Ducks (1992)– Anyone who knows me knows how I feel about hockey. I hate hockey. It’s just plain boring. I have zero interest in anything hockey related. And yet, I love these stupid Mighty Ducks movies.

Flight of the Navigator (1986) – I love this stinking movie. Love it!

 

Return to Oz (1985) – I had zero idea this was a Disney movie. The sequel to The Wizard of Oz. Based on the books, not the movie. That room of heads spooked the crap out of me as a kid.

The Apply Dumpling Gang (1975) – This is one of those ones that I didn’t actually like, but I’ve seen it SO MANY TIMES

The Cat From Outer Space (1978) – I distinctly remember watching this one in a school gym assembly for some reason.

 

There are so many other great movies that could have been included in this list D.A.R.Y.L., Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, The Never Ending Story, etc, etc, but I narrowed it down to Disney movies so I could find someway to narrow it down.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday -Movie Love

Stay Weird

