Top Ten Tuesday – First Times

It’s been a pretty shit year for reading for me. There are many excuses I could list, but mostly, I just haven’t made as much time as I should have. However, I have read several new authors this year. And that is today’s Broke & Bookish Topic! These aren’t necessarily debut authors; they are simply people I’ve never read before. Some have been added to my list of authors to watch. Others probably won’t get a revisit.

Lee.jpg

 

 

 

Stacey Lee – Under A Painted Sky 

I do not like historic fiction. It is not my bag. But I did not hate this book. And that puts Ms. Lee pretty high in my books.

 

 

Dostoyevsky.jpg

 

 

Fyodor Dostoyevsky – Crime and Punishment

This has long been on my list of classics to read. I finally got around to it. It reads chillingly modern.

 

 

Priest.jpg

 

 

 

Christopher Priest – The Prestige

Yeah, I saw the movie years ago, but totally doesn’t count. The book is significantly better.

 

 

 

Kern.jpg

 

 

 

Peggy Kern – Little Peach

If Little Peach is any indication of Kern’s typical writing style, I’ll be digging into more of her work. This book was heartbreaking. Fucking heartbreaking.

 

 

 

hahn

 

 

 

Beth Hahn – The Singing Bone

This is one of the better crime dramas I’ve read this year. It’s got this whole culty / folklore base that other stories don’t have. I definitely enjoyed it and since it’s Hahn’s only book, I’m considering reading it again.

 

 

Paige.jpg

 

 

Danielle Paige – Dorothy Must Die

I read the first two books in this series back to back. They filled a void for mindless entertainment I was looking for at the time. I’d taken a long enough break from dystopians and re-tellings that I wasn’t mad at these books.

 

 

 

Laybourne.jpg

 

 

 

Emmy Laybourne – Monument 14

This was perfect airplane reading. That might not sound like a compliment, but it got me through a cross continental flight with ease.

 

 

 

Stevens.jpg

 

 

 

Chevy Stevens – Those Girls

Dark and twisty. Canadian. Not my favourite in terms of writing style, but good enough that I read another of her books. That Night was the better of the two books, but Those Girls was the first I read.

 

 

mathieu

 

 

 

Jennifer Mathieu – The Truth About Alice

A perfect look at the way teenagers shame others only to distract from their own issues, but as a result of social conditioning. A fantastic look at high school and the practice of slut shaming. Read it.

 

 

ferguson

 

 

Will Ferguson – Happiness 

Technically, not the first time I’ve read Ferguson. However! I did not realize I had read him before when I read this book. I only realized I had when I pulled him up and saw I had a book marked as read. And this is the first time I’ve read his fiction. And it was satirical perfection. So he gets a slot!

 

 

 

Perhaps you’ll pick up one of these and find a new writer to enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – First Times

Stay Weird

