Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Want to Read but Don’t Own

Today’s TTT prompt from the Broke and Bookish is books you want to read but don’t own yet. This one is tricky for me. I usually don’t run out and buy books by authors I haven’t read – especially if I’m just curious about the book. I’ve read too many terrible books over the last couple years. I have the first three books in the Mortal Instruments series sitting on my shelf because I decided I liked the covers and the idea of the books and I wanted to own them. Now they annoy me, because they weren’t the books I wanted them to be and now I own an incomplete series. But, that was before I’d gotten my library card. Nowadays, I get most of the books I’m curious about from the library. But, there are some books that I’ve seriously considered buying even though I haven’t read them.

13532287

The Bat – Jo Nesbo

Jo Nesbo has been on my list of authors to read for years. When I first started looking, the first book in English was The Redbreast, but that wasn’t the first book in the series. It wasn’t a conscious decision, but that might have been why I kept putting off reading it. I went in the other day to see what I wanted to order with a gift card I had and these books were on my list. I didn’t end up buying them, but I did see that the first two novels are out in English now. These are moving up my list.

10594929

Out of Oz – Gregory Maguire

If this book was available in the mass market paperback, I would own it. It’s the only one in the series I don’t own. I’ve actually read half of it, so maybe this is a cheat, but I’m including it anyway because I really want to own it. I kept taking it out of the library and not getting a chance to finish it and now it’s been so long that I would need to start over. Once I can buy this one, I’ll probably try to re-read the whole series – and maybe I’ll actually get through book three this time.

16793

Stardust – Neil Gaiman

I loved this movie and I really like Neil Gaiman. There’s really no excuse for not having read/bought this one yet.

13124003

The Last Unicorn – Peter S. Beagle

I know about this one because of the cartoon. The red bull scarred me. Like emotions scars. Then I started re-watching it when I was older and was influenced by… let’s say, external elements. The scars healed and I decided I loved it. Then I found out it was a book. I kind of want to own this one just so I can see it on my shelf. And I have a friend who is obsessed with it and would like to be able to talk about it knowledgably.

21787

The Princess Bride – William Goldman

Pretty much the same explanation as the last entry. I loved the movie as a kid, didn’t know it was a book until I was an adult. It’s one I’d like to own.

2207115

I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone – Stephanie Kuehnert

I’ve read a different book by this author and loved it. She really gets the heart of the 90’s, grungy, punky, tortured teen. I love her style. I want to read this one and own several of her books.

259028

The Devil in White City – Erik Larson

This one is the only ‘non-fiction’ entry on the list. I say that in quotes because it’s not straight non-fiction. It’s creative. It’s the simultaneous story of the Chicago World’s Fair and America’s first serial killer H.H. Holmes. I discovered it while doing some research for something I was writing. I’ve read a chapter or two and it doesn’t read like true crime – which is perfection.

9743801

Gathering Blue – Lois Lowry

As you know by now, I love The Giver. This is the second book in the series. I keep meaning to read it and to own it (and the following two books). I just have this fear that reading the rest of the series is going to ruin the first book for me. I don’t know why. It’s totally irrational. But it’s there.

586652

The Rules of Attraction– Bret Easton Ellis

I don’t know why I want to own his books, but I do. There’s no greater explanation here.

dickens-1_2794642k

Charles Dickens

I’m not narrowing it down any more than this. I’ve read part of A Christmas Carol and loved it. It’s shameful that I haven’t read more of his books. I want to own a lot of them and I want them in really nice bindings.

Here are the books I ended up buying with that gift card I was talking about earlier. New books!

10629562_10154547192355188_7033330154404620204_n

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Want to Read but Don’t Own

  1. I found The Princess Bride book in the same way–movie first. It’s excellent, but different from the movie–a lot more complex, a little rambling, and a little less happy.

    I haven’t read much Dickens, either–if I buy some, I plan to get those Penguin hardcovers I see on your background.

    • Agreed. I’m attracted to his pretty hiding the gritty style, but I’ve never actually read anything he’s written.
      My local library screens movies outside in the summer – everyone brings their own chair or blanket and dresses up and comes to watch. They’re super fun. They did The Princess Bride last summer. It reignited my interest in reading the book.

  2. Gathering Blue is such a good book! It’s not my favorite in the series but I did enjoy it. I just love that series though so I am somewhat biased. You should read Charles Dickens, it takes a minute to get used to the writing but he is just a phenomenal author.

Stay Weird